Congratulations to our 2022 Staff Recognition Award Honorees!

Earlier this year, the College introduced a new program called the Staff Recognition Awards to recognize exceptional employee performance across six key areas tied to our values and culture.

Similar to our Faculty of Distinction program that celebrates excellence in teaching among faculty, this staff-centric program is driven by peer nominations.

Employees from across the College were asked to submit the names of colleagues deemed most deserving of the individual honors along with a supportive paragraph about the person’s suitability. The final decisions on honorees were informed by those submissions.

Our inaugural group of Staff Recognition Award honorees were announced and celebrated earlier this month at a festive holiday gathering in New Rochelle. Honorees received the warm applause of their peers, along with a cash award and commemorative crystal.

Congratulations to all the winners!

President’s Award for Professional Excellence:  Chris Cascio and Sandi Feliciano

Recognizes a full-time staff member who goes above and beyond every day to “live” the College’s values and culture and has a positive impact on making Monroe a great place to study and work

Mildred King Innovator Award: Marcus DiBernardo and Sam Parsons

Recognizes a full-time staff member who has shown leadership and innovation by identifying a specific need within the College community and showing the initiative to follow through (leading or helping to lead a great solution to it)

Distinguished Mentor Award: Sandra Polanco

Recognizes a full-time staff member who has demonstrated excellence as a mentor to students and who truly goes the extra mile to connect with their students and help them succeed 

Rising Star Award: Denzel Daniel

Recognizes a full-time staff member who has been at the College less than three years and has demonstrated outstanding performance in their role

Outstanding Merit Award: Veralyn Gabriel

Recognizes a part-time employee who has demonstrated exemplary commitment to students and the College’s mission

Outstanding Service Award: Theo Charles and Jim Moore

Recognizes a Facilities, Public Safety or Transportation staff member who has demonstrated exemplary commitment to students and the College